loader image

Accredited Training Institutions

Vicente Sotto Memorial Medical Center

Accredited Training Institutions

Vicente Sotto Memorial Medical Center


Brief History of the Program

The section of Urology was organized by Dr. Jose Galvez in 1950. The other Urologists who also became a part of the Section were Dr. Venustiano Borromeo, Dr. Celestinodel Rosario and Dr. Renato Espinosa.  Dr. BonifacioCabahug became part of the Institution in the early 1970’s.

It was only in February 1997 that Urology, still a Section of the Department of General Surgery became accredited. This was to become the first training program outside Metro Manila to be accredited by the Philippine Board of Urology (PBU), and first under the Manpower Development Program of the Philippine Urological Association.  Dr. BonifacioCabahug Jr. became the first Chairman of the program who incidentally was the first graduate of the Veterans Memorial Medical Center training program in Urology; incidentally, Dr. Cabahug  was also one of the first locally trained Urologists who successfully hurdled the first written and oral examination given by the Philippine Board of Urology.  

Previously, the training program accepted 1 resident per year as lateral entry with at least a two year accredited General surgery training. At present, the VSMMC Department of Urology has a 6 year program, including  two years of general surgery rotation. The department is accredited by the Philippine Board of Urology until December 2021. It has produced 14 graduates who are currently practicing in different parts of the Philippines, specifically in Cagayan de Oro, Bohol and Lapu-Lapu City, Lanao del Norte, Dipolog, Bukidnon South Cotabato/Sultan Kudarat, Ozamiz, Misamis Occidental and Midsayap, North Cotabato. The six-year program covers experience and graduated responsibility for the care of patients with surgical diseases of the male and female urinary tract, male genital tract, and the adrenals. The program aims to produce competent urologists for identified areas of the Philippines with no practicing urologist.


Promote the art and science of Urology, enhance professional growth, and provide wholesome fellowship.

Act as professional partners to our colleagues in other medical specialties.

Share time, talent, resources in the service of the community and in the formulation of national healthcare facilities.


Provide quality care, continuing medical education, research, publications & pioneering technology.

To have cohesive and ethical members engaged in formulating and implementing  health policies.

Services offered:

  • Extra-Corporeal Shockwave Lithotripsy (ESWL)
  • Urodynamic Studies
  • Renal Transplantation
  • Transrectal Ultrasound of the Prostate (TRUS) with or without Biopsies
  • MRI (Magnetic Resonance Imaging) with or without contrast
  • Laparoscopic Urology
  • Trans-urethral Endourological Procedures (Ureteroscopies with EMI lithotripsy, ultrasonic lithotripsy, or pneumatic lithotripsy)
  • Percutaneous procedures under Ultrasonic or Flouroscopic Guidance in the kidney or other organs like Percutaneous Nephrolithotomies or Nephrostomies, renal biopsies or percutaneous renal cyst aspirations.

Residency Training program in Urology:

The VSMMC Urology Residency Programproper  is a 4-year program that follows on after the 2-year General Surgery rotation, also in our institution. It is designed to provide the trainee the knowledge and skills required to diagnose and treat all urologic diseases and complications, and the proficiency and competence in performing diagnostic and surgical procedures in order to prepare him in providing optimal patient care, specially when he/she finishes his/her training.

Requirements for application to the Urology Residency Program:

  1. Application Letter
  2. Resume’ (including cellphone no. and e-mail address)
  3. PRC Board exam rating
  4. Class Ranking
  5. Certificate of Internship
  6. Transcript of records
  7. Recommendation letter (preferably from urologists of area of practice) 

Please address letters of appliction to:

  1. Gerardo M. Aquino Jr, M.D.

Medical Center Chief II

  1. Enrique C. Tenazas, MD, FPUA

Chairman,  Department of Urology

  1. Jose Rizalito C. Catipay, MD, FPUA 

Training Officer, Department of Urology


Ms. Harlene A. Requina at09234652323

Basis for Evaluation of Applicants:

  • Written Examination
  • Personal interview 
  • Two months of pre-residency

Contact Information:

Access PUA Portal

PUA Member? Login now and get access to exclusive content!